Finding New Ways To Grow

One thing that Gretchen Rubin says in her book The Happiness Project is that ‘To be happier, you have to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.

It’s the ‘atmosphere of growth’ part that got me thinking.  So many of my friends and colleagues are thinking about or in the process of going back to school.  They have grand plans of MBAs, doctorates, and other master’s degrees.  I even have another friend who is planning to ditch her chemistry degree to go back to beauty school.

At this point I don’t have a 5 year plan when it comes to education or career .  That’s something so weird for me to say because I always have had those types of plans in the past.  All I can say is I  do enjoy my current job and position and I know that it is something that will give me the experience to grow in my career and future.  Still, it’s weird to not have the impetus to know exactly what I want to be doing in 5 years.

This is not to say that I don’t have other ‘5 year plans’ per say.  Chris and I have a very extensive financial 5-year plan and an overall life view of where we’re headed in the next 10 years.  But those are different than my having those types of personal goals for myself.

But as I am reading The Happiness Project, I started thinking that it’s not “going back to school” that I’m longing for.  It’s certainly not saddling myself with more student loan debt for a degree that I’m not even sure I want or need.

It’s really just growth in general that I’m craving.  Learning of some kind.  And it was a relief to realize I can find that sort of growth without committing to some fancy program.  I can take an art class.  I can take a cooking class.  I can commit starting the journey to learning Italian this spring/summer.  I can take up photography.  I can find MAKE the time to write and do MORE with it. Share more, create more. I can sit down at my now very dusty piano. I can go to more yoga classes.  I can hone my creative endeavors and in my own way learn new things that fulfill that need for growth – WITHOUT going back to school. At least not right now.

That realization made such a difference to my thought processes and the rut I’ve been in these last few weeks  Now the question is which new growth do I tackle first??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding New Ways To Grow

  1. Karen says:

    🙂 I love this! I know this is coming from one of those friends getting their Masters degree, but one of the reasons I did go back is for that growth (and because I’m pretty dang nerdy).

    But hey! If you learn Italian, let me know! I’m working on it right now and I plan on doing a lot over the summer because I need to know a 3rd language for my MA. 🙂

  2. chris says:

    Good job baby. you will be great at whatever you choose for your creative endeavor.

Thoughts? Leave a Reply

