10 things I loved in September

Inspired by the lovely Amy Estes – a newfound Sacramento blogger – thanks to Ashlee Gadd – who has now become a part of my everyday reads – this concept fit perfectly with my quest to always look at the positive.

I know I am like a broken record talking about how you have the choice to be happy  (partially it’s because I have to remind myself)…

But my best friend sent me this quote at work the other day:

“The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, the education, the money, than circumstances, than failure, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company… a church… a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% of how I react to it. And so it is with you… we are in charge of our Attitudes.”
-Charles Swindoll

So very true.

And now onto September:

1)     Starting  Grad School!  Yes, it’s rendered me spending many weekends either reading/researching in pjs all day or huddled in a coffee shop doing more of the same. And it has all but nixed a large portion of my social life.  But, I love it.  I love being back in “Academia,” back working towards something. Making new friends. While I don’t know what my end goal for this master’s degree will be, I do know that I’ll be happy I have it and for the process. Mostly. : )

2)     Monterey Jazz Festival.  Always a highlight of September, it was wonderful to be back on the fairgrounds, nostalgic and fun seeing my family including my parents and across the country brother and seeing Trombone Shorty again was awesome.  I highly recommend him if he’s ever in your neck of the woods!

3)     Moving Cubicles.  Those who work with me know what a HUGE relief this is because of multiple people and factors.  I am much happier in my new space and I could see my attitude dramatically shift in no time simply due to that move.

4)     Pinterest Party #1.  My friends got together to do crafts and make and share food that we had all found on Pinterest.  I’d forgotten how relaxing it was to just sit for several hours doing crafts.  I have a new love for modge podge and we’re already planning our next fall themed one.  See our board of what we made here.

5)     Fall TV is BACK! I was slightly put off by Grey’s Anatomy’s premiere and I’m hoping episode 2 will make-up for it.  Highlights were New Girl, Modern Family, Castle and Dexter.  Thank goodness most of them come on after an already 15 hour day, so I feel less guilty watching them instead of studying.

6)     Chris and I are definitely going to Disneyland at Christmas.  We’re still finalizing plans and finishing saving. But he has the week off and it’s so happening. See: much, MUCH needed vacation.

7)     I’ve started taking meditation much more seriously.  I have been told by multiple people and doctors many times that I really just need to do it, really need to “FIND” the time.  Now thanks to encouragement from my friend Rachel at work, we are trying out the meditation that is offered as a part of our noontime wellness program, and it was awesome.  I also have an app on my phone that has guided 5-20min meditations that I plan to utilize frequently in the coming month.  Hopefully this meditation practice will lead into finding more time for yoga practice as well.  As much as I love my Zumba – I really need to balance it out.

8)     Our Fall Clothing Swap.  Every quarter some girlfriends and I get together to purge the clothes that we don’t wear anymore.  It’s hilarious watching everyone try to ‘explain’ the more questionable outfits and always a joy to see everyone leave happy with new treasures. Some of my favorite pieces have clothing have come from these.  I highly recommend having one.

9)     Realizing over and over again how much I love my Exercise/Zumba.  It may be more difficult to find the time for as much as I used to do, but when I have new people come into my classes and they leave smiling, laughing and sweaty, it reminds me all over again why I love teaching it.  Or when our team plays softball and the camaraderie is just palpable.  These are the reasons, no matter how busy or overwhelmed I am with life and all it’s responsibilities, those things must always be a part of it.

10)    And lastly what I love about September is that it’s OVER.  And with October comes the Holidays and a whole lot of other great stuff. Fall – REAL jackets, scarves and boots Fall, pumpkin carving, Fall and Christmas smelling candles, Halloween, fires, football games, Thanksgiving, two of my favorite friends’ wedding, the bridge school benefit, other friends’ birthdays, a friend’s dance show, seeing Memphis at Broadway Sacramento with my parents, eventually an apple hill trip, CHRISTMAS DECORATING, SHOPPING, CRAFTING, MUSIC and BAKING(!!!) and then of course Christmas itself, Disneyland, Chris’s 30th birthday, time off at the end of the year and SO MUCH more.

….Please remind me of all of those wonderful things when I’m pulling my hair out and threatening panic attacks about my end of semester workload…. : )  Please and Thank You.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Leave a Reply

